Gopher Men Fall on the Road at Iowa
Josh Hall had two wins against the Hawkeyes Friday night.
Josh Hall had two wins against the Hawkeyes Friday night.

Nov. 4, 2011

Complete Results

Despite picking up seven wins and three NCAA provisional qualifying times, the University of Minnesota men's swimming and diving team fell to 1-1 on the season and 1-0 in Big Ten action with a, 160.5-139.5, road loss to Iowa Friday night at the University of Iowa Aquatic Center.

The 200 medley team of Kyler Van Swol, Josh Hall, Larry Formosa and Zach Bolin earned the first win of the night for the Gophers with a provisional qualifying time of 1:29.91, before Matt Benecki followed with a win in the 1000 freestyle with a time of 9:06.04

Jared Anderson and Hall finished 1 and 2 in the 100 breaststroke and both picked up NCAA provisional qualifying times in 54.76 and 54.88, respectively. Anderson's time was also an Iowa Aquatic Center pool record.

Van Swol tallied his second win of the evening in the 200 butterfly, touching the wall in 1:48.20 and Hall added victory No. 2 of the dual meet with a time of 2:02.64 in the 200 breaststroke.

For the second-consecutive week, reigning Big Ten Diver of the Week Turner Eckstrom recorded victories in both 1 meter and 3 meter diving. The sophomore posted a score of 344.48 in 1 meter, before recording a score of 337.58 in 3 meter to add two more NCAA Zone Diving qualifying marks to his name.

Benecki added his second title of the night vs. the Hawkeyes in the 500 freestyle by posting a time of 4:26.28 to round out the list of Gopher winners.

The Gophers return to action Nov. 11-13 as they play host to the Grand Prix at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.





Road to Rio: Olympics Chat Part I


Coaches Kremer, Ganley and Purdy talked with about past and current Olympics connections.

Maly Hopes Busy Summer Ends in Rio


The Gophers junior soon leaves for European Nationals, where he hopes to secure an Olympic spot.

Minnesota Wraps Season with Banquet


Matt Barnard and Brooke Zeiger were named team MVPs for Minnesota's 2015-16 season.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics