Minnesota Begins Season With a Win
Captain Derek Toomey finshed first in the 50 free

Oct. 5, 2013


The University of Minnesota men's swimming and diving team opened up the 2013-14 season with a win over Arizona State University. The Gophers defeated the Sun Devils by a score of 190-95. The win marks the first for Minnesota for the year along with the first at home in the University Aquatic Center.

The meet was commemorated at the start as the five seniors along with their families were honored prior to the competition.

Co-Captain Derek Toomey started his final year as a Gopher strongly as he finished first in the 50 free with a time of 19.99 along with a second-place finish in the 100 free with a time of 45.16. Toomey currently holds the Minnesota record in the 100 free with a time of 42.60.

Returning junior Carl Newenhouse won the 200 back with a time of 1:48.97 while junior CJ Smith touched the wall in the 100 free in 9:19.03 which earned him a first-place finish.

Freshman Daryl Turner started his collegiate career off strong as he took four first-place finishes for the day. He won the 100 back with a time of 48.43 along with the 100 free with a time of 44.65. He also placed in the 200 medley relay and the 200 free relay.

Another freshman that debuted for the Golden Gophers today was Nick Hatanaka who won the 200 breast with a time of 2:03.52.

The Golden Gophers dominated in diving as they took home first, second, and third place finishes in the three-meter dive. With a final score of 370.65, Manny Pollard claimed first. Behind him was Dylan Zoe (333.52) and Erik Larsen (307.88). Pollard also earned himself a win in the one-meter with final score of 341.70.



Minnesota continues their competition next Saturday Oct. 12 against the University of Florida. The meet will be hosted again at the University Aquatics Center at 11:00 a.m.


Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

4/16/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota celebrated the 2017-18 season at its annual banquet to recognize the team's accomplishments as well as individual award winners.

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

4/3/2018 - M. Swimming

2017-18 saw the team earn individual championship titles, impressive dual record, numerous individual top times and new school record times.

Gophers Finish 15th at NCAA Meet

Gophers Finish 15th at NCAA Meet

3/24/2018 - M. Swimming

The University of Minnesota earns their best finish at the NCAA meet since 2011.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics