Gophers Finish Fourth at Big Ten Championships
The Gophers finished fourth at the 2013 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships.

March 2, 2013

Results | Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader | Photo Gallery 

With 378 team points, the No. 14 Minnesota men's swimming and diving team claimed fourth-place honors at the 2013 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships Saturday night at the Counsilman Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington, Ind. Michigan won the title with 899 points, with Indiana (664 points) and Ohio State (470 points) rounding out the top-three.

“We scored more points than a year ago so in that sense we took a step forward,” head coach Kelly Kremer said. “This morning wasn’t our best prelim, but we sure had a nice final tonight. We finished the meet the way we wanted to. I think our 400 free relay really put an exclamation mark on things, finishing third with a 2:53, that was a really nice swim. All and all we feel pretty good leaving the pool tonight.”

The Gophers kicked off the final night of competition with the 1,650 freestyle, where CJ Smith set the pace by placing fifth with a time of 14:54.21. He was followed by freshman Logan Redondo, who clocked in at 14:58.88 to secure seventh place. Sean Nesheim, Garin Marlow and Alex Cisnerosfinished in 22th, 24th and 25th, respectively, to round out Minnesota's field in the event.

Carl Newenhousewas the only Gopher to swim in the 200 free on the night. His time of 1:44.70 earned him a third-place finish in the consolation final and an 11th-place finish overall.

Derek Toomey came into the 100 free as the top seed and finished third in the championship final Saturday night with a time of 43.10. Senior Hrvoje Capanswam a 43.52 to place ninth, which was the top finish in the consolation heat. Michigan's Bruno Ortiz was crowned the Big Ten Champion in the event with a time of 42.76.

Both Josh Hall and Max Cartwrightcompeted in the consolation final of the 200 breaststroke, with Hall's time of 1:56.58 earning him an 11th-place finish and Cartwright's time of 1:57.21 giving him a 13th-place finish.

Brandon Hatanaka finished 10th in the 200 fly with a time of 1:46.84, while senior diver Mikey Rosswrapped up his final Big Ten Championship with a sixth-place finish in platform diving. His score of 415.95

Freshman Manny Pollard finished ninth in platform diving with a score of 390.00, while Jordan Lesser and Erik Larsencame in at 15th and 16th, respectively for Minnesota.

The 2013 Big Ten Championships came to a close with the 400 freestyle relay, where the Gopher squad of Derek Toomey, Ben Griggs, Felix Samuels and Hrvoje Capanposted an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 2:53.56 to place third.

The Gophers will next compete at the 2013 NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships March 28-30 at the IU Natatorium and the IUPUI Sports Complex in Indianapolis, Ind.

“Now we’re kind of in a wait and see mode,” Kremer said about heading into NCAAs. “We kind of have to wait and see who gets in ultimately. We had a number of guys put themselves in position to get invited. We’re just going to have to see how it falls. Right now we feel pretty good about it, we have a number of guys that gave themselves an opportunity, so we’ll see where we fall.” 




Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

Gophers Hold Annual End of Season Banquet

4/16/2018 - M. Swimming

Minnesota celebrated the 2017-18 season at its annual banquet to recognize the team's accomplishments as well as individual award winners.

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

Gophers 2017-18 Season Rewind

4/3/2018 - M. Swimming

2017-18 saw the team earn individual championship titles, impressive dual record, numerous individual top times and new school record times.

Gophers Finish 15th at NCAA Meet

Gophers Finish 15th at NCAA Meet

3/24/2018 - M. Swimming

The University of Minnesota earns their best finish at the NCAA meet since 2011.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics