The North Star College Cup presented by TRIA Orthopaedic Center of Minnesota features four of Minnesota’s five Division I men’s hockey programs. The changing landscape of college hockey provided the impetus for non-conference rivalries between the five programs, and the North Star College Cup ensures those rivalries will remain intact.

The University of Minnesota is the event’s permanent host. This year’s tournament features the Minnesota, UMD, Bemidji State and St. Cloud State. Minnesota State will not participate in the 2016 North Star College Cup.

Now in its fourth year, the North Star College Cup has provided plenty of excitement for fans of all five Division I college hockey programs in Minnesota as three different teams have won the event in its first three years - the University of Minnesota, Bemidji State and St. Cloud State.

The Gophers captured the inaugural title in 2014 in a dramatic shootout victory followed by the Beavers in 2015 after Michael Bitzer stopped 54 of 55 shots over the weekend to earn tournament MVP honors. St. Cloud State returns as the defending North Star College Cup champions after scoring 10 goals at the college hockey showcase in 2016.

Tournament Sponsors

West Bend
  Tournament Schedule
Friday, January 27
Bemidji State vs. St. Cloud State
4 p.m.
Xcel Energy Center

Minnesota vs. UMD
7 p.m.
Xcel Energy Center
Saturday, January 28
Third-Place Game
4 p.m.
Xcel Energy Center

Championship Game
7 p.m.
Xcel Energy Center

  Team Information
Minnesota Bemidji SCSU UMD


North Star College Cup


Both of this year’s semifinal matchups will serve as rematches of previous North Star College Cup championship contests.

Gophers Settle for Split with UW


Tyler Sheehy ended the night with a pair of assists and leads the Big Ten in scoring with 32 points on the year.

Kloos' OT Winner Keeps `U' Streaking


The Maroon & Gold have now won seven-straight games and nine of the last 10 contests.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics