Wilcox Named Finalist for Hobey Baker Award
Adam Wilcox

March 20, 2014

Vote Wilcox for Hobey | Big Ten Tournament Central

MINNEAPOLIS (GopherSports.com) – Big Ten Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year Adam Wilcox has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2014 Hobey Baker Award after backstopping the Gophers to the first-ever Big Ten regular-season championship and a No. 1 ranking entering this weekend’s Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament.

An All-America candidate, Wilcox leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally in wins (23), save percentage (.934) and goals against average (1.91) after guiding Minnesota to the first-ever Big Ten regular-season title and the program’s second-straight conference title with Wilcox in net.

A First Team All-Big Ten selection, the South St. Paul native is on pace to set a Minnesota single-season record for save percentage this season and allowed just 30 goals in 18 conference games this season. Wilcox boasts a 48-12-11 career record for the Maroon & Gold while his six career shutouts (three this season) rank seventh all-time at Minnesota.

Wilcox was also named a finalist for the inaugural Mike Richter Award as college hockey’s top goaltender on Wednesday.  

The University of Minnesota boasts four former Hobey Baker Award winners in program history with Neal Broten winning the inaugural award in 1981 followed by Robb Stauber in 1988 as the first goalie to win the honor. The pair was joined by Brian Bonin in 1996 and Jordan Leopold in 2002. Wilcox is Minnesota’s first Hobey Baker Award finalist since Ryan Potulny in 2006.

The ten finalists were selected by voting from all 59 Division I college hockey head coaches and by online fan balloting at www.hobeybakeraward.com. Next, the 27-member Selection Committee and an additional round of fan balloting (at www.hobeybakeraward.com from March 20-30) will determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner. Criteria for the award include: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.



The Hobey Hat Trick (three finalists) will be announced on April 2, 2014 and the Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced Friday, April 11, 2014 from Philadelphia, PA during the NCAA Frozen Four. The award announcement will be televised live on NHL Network or live on the Hobey Baker website at 6:00 p.m. ET.

The top-ranked Gophers head into the inaugural Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament at Xcel Energy Center as the top seed and will face the winner of four-seed Ohio State and five-seed Michigan State on Friday at 7 p.m. The conference title will be decided on Saturday at 7 p.m. All five games of the Big Ten tournament will be broadcast on the Big Ten Network and BTN2Go.com.

-Pride on Ice-


McManus Named B1G Third Star


McManus scored three goals – his first three collegiate tallies – on three shots in the third period including the eventual game-winning goal.

McManus' Hat Trick Lifts 'U' to Victory


Eleven Gophers tallied points in the game while Eric Schierhorn picked up the win in his 78th-straight start for Minnesota, setting a new program record.

Penn State Spoils Gophers' Home Opener


No. 7 Gopher Hockey opened its home and Big Ten conference seasons suffering a 3-1 defeat against No. 11 Penn State on Friday evening at 3M Arena at Mariucci.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics