Minnesota Legend John Mayasich Named AHCA's Lamoriello Award Winner
Former University of Minnesota men's hockey player John Mayasich, considered by many to be the greatest American-born hockey player of all time, has been chosen as the recipient of the 2006 Lou Lamoriello Award by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). The award, named after the former Providence College player and coach and current New Jersey Devils president and coach honors a former member of the college hockey community who has forged a unique career after college hockey.

Mayasich enjoyed an outstanding career as one of the top broadcast executives in the region. A University of Minnesota graduate, Mayasich entered the broadcast industry with a sales position at KSTP Radio in 1957. He moved to WFRV TV in Green Bay, Wisconsin, in 1959 and later became sales manager at WDUZ Radio in Green Bay.

He returned to Hubbard Broadcasting in 1974, and became general manager of KS95 FM, making it the highest-rate FM station in the top 30 US markets. In 1983, he began a twelve-year term as president of the radio division of Hubbard Broadcasting, later serving as head of public relations. He retired in 1997, but remains active as a consultant to Hubbard Broadcasting.

Widely respected among his peers in the industry, he served for nine years on the board of directors of the Minnesota Broadcasters Association, and was its president for 1993 to 1994.

As a player, Mayasich excelled like no other. Here are just a few of his on-ice accomplishments:

Led Eveleth High School to four straight Minnesota high school championships from 1948-1951, never losing a single high school game in four years.

Set numerous high school tournament records, ten of which still stood nearly 50 years later.

Led the University of Minnesota to two NCAA championship games (1953 and 1954.)

Set numerous University of Minnesota records, including goals (144) and points (298), which still stand.

Won silver (1956) and gold (1960) medals as a member of two U.S. Olympic teams.

Played on various U.S. National Teams up through 1966, eleven years after graduating from college.

Named one of Western Collegiate Hockey Association’s Top 50 Players in 50 Years in 2002-03 and named WCHA’s All-Time Best Player in 50th Anniversary Issue of The Hockey News in 1997.

Became the only Golden Gopher in the history of the program to habe his number retired. His No. 8 was retired on Nov. 14, 1998, before Minnesota's game against North Dakota.

The previous winners of the Lamoriello Award are Tom “Red” Martin of Boston College (2005) and Lou Lamoriello (2005). The award will be presented at an April 7 luncheon during the 2006 NCAA Frozen Four weekend in Milwaukee, WI.




Traffic Advisory: Busy Weekend on Campus


Fans are advised to plan extra time for travel and parking on campus this Friday and Saturday due to multiple events taking place.

Gophers Host Border Battle Finale


The No. 4 Gophers return to Mariucci Arena this weekend to take on No. 19 Wisconsin in a Border Battle series between the top two programs in the Big Ten.

Pitlick, Kloos Earn Weekly Accolades


Rem Pitlick was honored as both the NCAA First Star of the Week and the Big Ten First Star of the Week, while Justin Kloos picked up Big Ten Third Star of the Week accolades.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics