North Star College Cup Unveiling
North Star College Cup

Jan. 22, 2014

Get NSCC Tickets

MINNEAPOLIS - With the inaugural North Star College Cup set for this weekend at Xcel Energy Center, the University of Minnesota, the Bemidji State University, Minnesota State University, St. Cloud State University and the University of Minnesota Duluth have unveiled the trophy for the winning team of Saturday's championship game.  

The North Star College Cup was designed and produced by Sterling Trophy, Inc., in Anoka, Minn., with several ties to the state of Minnesota.

The cup itself was made out of a red oak tree from the Glen Skrove Farm in Mora, Minn., and was turned by Doug Johannsen of Ramsey, Minn. The hand-crafted base is topped with a star -- representing Minnesota's moniker of the "North Star State" - made out of native birch wood. The star is surrounded by 2013-14 game pucks from all five of Minnesota's Division I hockey programs to celebrate the inaugural season of the North Star College Cup. Finally, the base of the cup was hand crafted by Bill Durand of Durand Woodworking in Anoka, Minn., out of hickory wood - a unique hardwood that was used to manufacture hockey sticks.

The North Star College Cup is set for Jan. 24-25 at Xcel Energy Center with Minnesota, Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota State and St. Cloud State participating in the inaugural event.

Tickets for the tournament are still available. Single-session tickets are $45 each and allow access to both games in the session. A limited number of two-day packages are still available for $80 each. Tickets are available now at the Xcel Energy Center Box Office, Ticketmaster Ticket Centers, charged by phone at 800-745-3000 or purchased online at

Session 1
Friday, Jan. 24
Game #1: Minnesota State-Mankato vs. Minnesota Duluth - 4 p.m.
Game #2: St. Cloud State vs. Minnesota - 7 p.m.

Session 2
Saturday, Jan. 25
Game #3: Consolation Game - 4 p.m.
Game #4: Championship Game - 7 p.m.

About the North Star College Cup
The North Star College Cup came to fruition on March 23, 2013 when Minnesota's five Division I men's hockey programs announced their intentions to maintain in-state rivalries despite a split in conference alignments. While all five programs previously competed in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, 2013-14 marks the first season in which the Gophers compete in the Big Ten Conference while St. Cloud State and Minnesota Duluth have moved to the National Collegiate Hockey Conference. Minnesota State and Bemidji State continue to compete in the WCHA. The changing landscape of college hockey provided the impetus for non-conference rivalries between the five programs, and the North Star College Cup ensures those rivalries will remain intact. The University of Minnesota will serve as the event's permanent host with three of the other four institutions participating on a rotating basis over an initial four-year schedule.

-Pride on Ice-






Wheeler Named to NHL Second All-Star Team

Wheeler Named to NHL Second All-Star Team

6/21/2018 - M. Ice Hockey

The forward led the NHL in regular-season assists and was one of two Gopher Hockey alums to finish in the top-10 for regular-season points – Wheeler came in ninth while Phil Kessel ...

Watch: 3M Arena at Mariucci Ice Painting

Watch: 3M Arena at Mariucci Ice Painting

6/20/2018 - M. Ice Hockey

Watch this time lapse of the ice being painted in the summer of 2018 at 3M Arena at Mariucci, home of the University of Minnesota Golden Gophers!

2018 Gopher Hockey NHL Draft Guide

2018 Gopher Hockey NHL Draft Guide

6/15/2018 - M. Ice Hockey

The 2018 NHL Entry Draft is slated for June 22-23 at the American Airlines Center in Dallas.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics