Gymnasts Honored at Golden Goldys
Junior Ellis Mannon was a nominee for Male Athlete of the year

April 29, 2014

By Ben Gotz, Athletics Communications Student Assistant

Photo Gallery | Past Golden Goldys Awards

MINNEAPOLIS - Several members of the Gopher men’s gymnastics team were honored Monday night, when the University of Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletics department hosted the eighth annual Golden Goldys/Scholar Athlete banquet at TCF Bank Stadium.

Junior Ellis Mannon was honored as one of five nominees for male athlete of the year, after winning the NCAA pommel horse title and being named an All-American.

Mannon was also the Big Ten Champion on pommel horse, an All-Big Ten first team honoree, and an Academic All-Big Ten honoree. Mannon scored the third-highest NCAA men’s gymnastics pommel horse score of all-time at the Windy City Invitational earlier in the year, with a 15.950.

Mannon’s fellow nominees were Ra’Shede Hageman (football), Tony Nelson (wrestling), Derek Toomey (swimming), and Adam Wilcox (hockey). The award ended up going to Wilcox, the starting goalie for the NCAA runner-up Gophers hockey squad.

Senior Nathan Fortunato was given one of the “Top Five Awards,” given to the athletes with the top five GPAs for both men and women’s athletics. Fortunato currently sports a perfect 4.0 GPA with his Recreation Resource Management major.

Senior Yoshi Morinishi was one of two athletes awarded the Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship, along with Rachel Drake of women’s cross country and women’s track and field. Morinishi is an electrical engineering major and won the Big Ten Sportsmanship award this season.

The Golden Goldys voting process included spring sports of 2013 (baseball, men’s and women’s gold, rowing, softball, men’s and women’s outdoor track & field and men’s and women’s tennis) and the fall and winter sports of the 2013-14 athletic year.

2013-14 Golden Goldy Winners

Female Athlete of the Year
Rachel Banham, Basketball

Male Athlete of the Year
Adam Wilcox, Hockey

Female Rookie of the Year
Amanda Zahui B. Basketball

Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
David Cobb, Football

Female Breakthrough Athlete Of the Year
Rachael Bona, Hockey

Male Rookie of the Year
Wally Ellenson, Track & Field

Best Female Team

Best Male Team

Best Women's Team Coach
Jessica Allister, Softball

Best Men's Team Coach
Don Lucia, Hockey

Outstanding Student-Athlete Achievement Award
Sara Moulton, Softball
Nate Condon, Men's Hockey

Outstanding Achievement Award in Leadership and Service
Katherine Windsor, Rowing
Chris Hawthorne, Football 

Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship
Rachel Drake, WCC/TRK - Biochemistry 
Justin Morinishi, M/GYM - Electrical Engineering

Gladys Brooks and Norman Borlaug Commitment to Academic Excellence Award
Women's Cross Country and Men's Golf  

Top Five Awards (top five GPAs for both men and women)
Rachel Drake, CC/TRK
Becca Dyson, CC/TRK
Erica Meyer, Softball
Jessica Plant, Swimming & Diving
Rebecca Rethwisch, CC/TRK
Nathan Fortunato, Gymnastics
Mathieu Froment, Tennis
Matthew Jergenson, Track & Field
Corey Mills, Swimming & Diving
Josh Shupe, Wrestling 

Teammate of the Year Award
Jeff KeiserChris Lagasse and Michelle Traen (Creative Services and Athletic Communications) 

Tom H. Swain Campus Recognition Award
University of Minnesota Orientation & First-Year Programs 

Richard "Pinky" McNamara Student-Athlete Achievement Award
Cedric Thompson, Football 

Community Service Team Award  
Women's Track & Field/Cross Country, Men's Swimming & Diving 

Outstanding Academic Team Award
Women's Teams - Soccer, Tennis
Men's Team - Swimming & Diving, Tennis





Five Gophers Earn Academic All-America Honors


With five honorees named today, Minnesota now boasts a total of nine Academic All-Americans for the 2016-17 academic year.

Fystrom Retires After 36 Years


After 36 years as an assistant coach for the Minnesota men’s gymnastics team, Russ Fystrom has announced his retirement.

Gopher Teammates Set for Canadian Championships


Minnesota men’s gymnastics teammates Joel Gagnon and Justin Karstadt will compete at the 2017 Canadian Championships in Artistic Gymnastics this weekend in Montreal, Quebec.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics