Van Rooyen Wins Minnesota State Amateur
Van Rooyen is the second Gopher in a row to win the MGA Amateur.

July 18, 2012

Golden Gopher senior Erik Van Rooyen, playing out of Les Bolstad Golf Club, shot even par for the tournament at the 109th Minnesota State Amateur at Hastings Country Club to claim the title by three strokes. He becomes the 23nd player with Gopher ties to win the tournament and also the second straight following Donald Constable’s win in last year’s event at White Bear Yacht Club.

Van Rooyen moved into the lead on day two of the tournament after a 3-under 68, his best round of the week. He was never more than one stroke over par during the tournament, and he birdied the 18th hole today to finish as the only player at even par (72-68-73).

A native of Oudtshoorn, South Africa, Van Rooyen will enter his senior season at Minnesota this fall. He was an All-Big Ten Second Team selection as a junior after finishing seventh in the conference tournament. He went on to compete at the NCAA Ann Arbor Regional.

Van Rooyen posted six top-20 and three top-10 finishes for the Gophers last season, including a career-best tie for third at the LSU Invitational. He led the Gophers with a stroke average of 72.6, the 12th-lowest season average in Minnesota history. He begins his senior year with the program’s ninth-best career stroke average ever (73.98).

Current Gophers Colton Buege and David Haley Jr. also finished in the top 10. Buege, an incoming sophomore, tied for fifth (75-70-72). Haley, a senior, tied for eighth (78-71-70).

Their teammates Robert Bell and Jon DuToit tied for 15th, while Tyler Lowenstein and Genki Hirayama tied for 22nd and 30th, respectively. Former Gopher Adam Dooley tied for 25th.

The Gophers will open the 2012-13 season on Sept. 9-10 by hosting the eighth annual Gopher Invitational at Spring Hill Golf Club in Wayzata.

All-Time Gopher State Amateur Champions

Year (s)

Les Bolstad


Lee Herron


Neil Croonquist

1941, 1960

Henry Ernst


Spero Daltas


Thomas Hadley


William Waryan


Robert Henrickson


Eugene Hansen

1961, 1962

Rolf Deming


Norb Anderson


Mike Fermoyle

1973, 1980

John Harris

1974, 1987, 1989, 1999, 2000

Steven Johnson


Tom Lehman


Dave Nordeen


Aaron Barber


James McLean


Adam Dooley


Ben Meyers


Andrew Paulson


Donald Constable


Erik Van Rooyen





Annual Golf Outing Set for July 30

Annual Golf Outing Set for July 30

5/12/2018 - M. Golf

The Gopher men's golf and Gopher women's hockey annual golf outing is scheduled for Monday, July 30.

Gopher Road Trip: Day Two Recap

Gopher Road Trip: Day Two Recap

5/9/2018 - M. Golf

The first leg of the 2018 Gopher Road Trip wrapped up on Tuesday with stops in Owatonna, Kasota and Hutchinson. The trip continues in two weeks.

Gopher Road Trip: Day One Recap

Gopher Road Trip: Day One Recap

5/8/2018 - M. Golf

The first leg of the Gopher Road Trip kicked off Monday with stops in Cannon Falls and Rochester.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics