Minnesota Men's Golf Hands Out Annual Awards
Erik Van Rooyen led the Gophers in stroke average this season.

May 9, 2012

The University Minnesota Men's Golf program recently held its annual banquet at the DQ Club Room inside TCF Bank Stadium. The team announced the following awards.

Louis Lick "Hardest Worker" Award:  Kyle Beversdorf
Kyle Beversdorf, of Plymouth, Minn., is a sophomore. He sat out this season after transferring from Northern Iowa. His 18-hole average for the Panthers was 74.6. He will have three years of eligibility remaining, beginning with the 2012 fall season.

Louis Lick played for the Gophers from 1943-1945, winning the 1944 National Championship in Toledo, Ohio. Lick was the first Gopher to ever compete in the NCAA Championship and is one of only two Gopher individuals to win a national title (James McLean - 1998).

2002 National Championship Team "Teammate of the Year" Award: Colton Buege
Colton Buege is a redshirt freshman from Rodgers, Minn. He competed as an individual at the Gopher Invitational this season.

The 2002 Gophers came out of nowhere to shock the collegiate golf world and capture the 2002 National Title, defeating second place Georgia Tech by four strokes.  The team capped a roller coaster season, which saw the program almost dropped, by becoming the first northern-based school to win the title since Ohio State did so in 1979. Minnesota was in 16th place after two rounds and in fourth place heading into the final day.

Tom Lehman "Player of the Year" Award: Erik Van Rooyen
Erik Van Rooyen, who was recently named Second Team All-Big Ten, led the Gophers in the fall and spring seasons in stroke average at 73.2 and 71.9, respectively. His combined stroke average of 72.6 this season is the 12-lowest in the history of Minnesota golf and is his lowest in the three seasons he has been at the U. His current career average of 73.77 is the ninth-lowest in Gopher Golf history.

A native of Oudtshoorn, South Africa, Van Rooyen finished the regular season having posted three top-10 and six top-20 finishes in 10 tournaments, including a third place finish at the LSU Invitational in March and his second consecutive top-10 finish at the Big Ten Championships with a seventh place finish in French Lick, Ind. in April

Van Rooyen will be competiting at the NCAA Ann Arbor Regional May 17-19 at the University of Michigan Golf Course in Ann Arbor.

Tom Lehman had a distinguished career at Minnesota and now as a professional. The Gopher legend competed in the NCAA Championship three consecutive years from 1979-1981, with his best finish coming during the 1980 championships (20th).

A winner of 29 career professional titles worldwide, including the 1996 Open Championship and the 2010 Senior PGA Championship, Lehman is the only golfer in history to have been awarded the Player of the Year honor on all three PGA Tours: the regular PGA Tour, the Nationwide Tour and the Champions Tour.
s a professional, he won The Open Championship in 1986.

Follow Gopher Golf:    




Johnson Ties for 8th at Hawkeye Invitational

Johnson Ties for 8th at Hawkeye Invitational

4/14/2018 - M. Golf

The University of Minnesota men's golf team tied for sixth after the tournament was shortened.

Three Gophers in Top Ten at Hawkeye Invitational

Three Gophers in Top Ten at Hawkeye Invitational

4/13/2018 - M. Golf

Minnesota is tied for third as Johnson, Arnorsson and Flanagan are tied for fifth among individuals.

Minnesota Heads to Iowa to Close Regular Season

Minnesota Heads to Iowa to Close Regular Season

4/12/2018 - M. Golf

The Gophers will compete in the Hawkeye Invitational for the seventh consecutive year.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics