Big Ten Honors Gophers for Academics
Dec. 9, 2015
The Big Ten Conference has recognized 69 student-athletes from the University of Minnesota as 2015 Academic All-Big Ten honorees, the league announced on Wednesday afternoon.

In total, the Big Ten honored 1,024 student-athletes who compete in fall sports across the conference. Of the representatives chosen from the Maroon and Gold, five programs were accredited for their academic success. The football team placed 28 individuals on the list to pace the Gophers. Women’s cross country (14) and women’s soccer (13) touted double-digit honorees, while women’s volleyball and men’s cross country rounded out the list with eight and six, respectively.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 21 of the fall laureates maintained an unblemished grade-point average with three student-athletes hailing from the University of Minnesota. Foster Bush (football), Josh Campion (football) and Stacey Swatek (women’s cross country) gave the Gophers the second-highest total of 4.0 GPAs among the Big Ten Conference.

Brian Bobek (R-Sr., Applied Kinesiology) Inverness, Ill.
Briean Boddy-Calhoun (R-Sr., Human Resource Development) Wilmington, Del.
Foster Bush (R-Sr., Applied Kinesiology) Menasha, Wis.
Josh Campion (R-Sr., Human Resource Development) Fergus Falls, Minn.
Eric Carter (R-So., Sport Management) Lakeland, Fla.
Jonathan Celestin (So., Undeclared) Jonesboro, Ga.
Jon Christenson (R-Sr., Public Health Administration) Minnetonka, Minn.
Scott Ekpe (R-Jr., Human Resource Development) Lewisville, Texas
Gaelin Elmore (So., Communication Studies) New Richmond, Wis.
Tyler Hartmann (R-Jr., Agricultural/Food Business Management) Andover, Minn.
Isaac Hayes (R-Jr., Mechanical Engineering) Brooklyn Park, Minn.
Payton Jordahl (R-Fr., Undeclared) Perham, Minn.
Matt Leidner (R-So., Mechanical Engineering) Lakeville, Minn.
Mitch Leidner (R-Jr., Kinesiology) Lakeville, Minn.
Brandon Lingen (So., Engineering) Wayzata, Minn.
John McKelvey (R-Jr., Business and Marketing Education) Hunting Valley, Ohio
Peter Mortell (R-Sr., Applied Kinesiology) Green Bay, Wis.
Jonah Pirsig (R-Jr., Elementary Education: Foundations) Blue Earth, Minn.
Nick Rallis (R-Jr., Business and Marketing Education) Edina, Minn.
Steven Richardson (So., Undeclared) Chicago, Ill.
Ryan Santoso (R-So., Sport Management) Pace, Fla.
EJ Sardinha (R-Jr., Business and Marketing Education) Wellington, Fla.
Andrew Stelter (So., Undeclared) Owatonna, Minn.
Chris Streveler (Jr., Kinesiology) Crystal Lake, Ill.
Miles Thomas (Sr., Business and Marketing Education) Downs, Kan.
Yoshoub Timms (Sr., Business and Marketing Education) Fort Walton Beach, Fla.
Louis Tuszynski (R-Jr., Entrepreneurial Management) Germantown, Wis.
Peter Westerhaus (Sr., Finance) Chanhassen, Minn.

Men’s Cross Country
Aaron Bartnik (R-Sr., Electrical Engineering) Eden Prairie, Minn.
Riley Macon (R-Jr., Kinesiology) Rochester, Minn.
Christian Skaret (R-Sr., Sport Management) Minnetonka, Minn.
Matt Welch (R-So., Kinesiology) Duluth, Minn.
Brad Woodford (R-So., Biomedical Engineering) Waukesha, Wis.
Adam Zutz (R-Sr., Mechanical Engineering) St. Francis, Minn.

Women’s Cross Country
Courtney Alama (R-Fr., Undeclared) Annandale, Minn.
Liz Berkholtz (R-Sr., Psychology/Addiction Studies) Sun Prairie, Wis.
Melissa Cabak (R-Jr., Chemical Engineering) Plymouth, Minn.
Caitlin Dillon (R-Jr., Elementary Education) Germantown, Wis.
Molly Eastman (R-Fr., Food Science) Victoria, Minn.
Haley Johnson (R-Jr., Food Science) Plymouth, Wis.
Taylor Mikkalson (R-Jr., Psychology) Mantorville, Minn.
Patty O’Brien (R-Fr., Undeclared) Maplewood, Minn.
Jamie Piepenburg (R-Jr., Genetics/Cell Biology) Alexandria, Minn.
Kate Shelerud (R-Jr., Nursing) Esko, Minn.
Madeline Strandemo (R-So., Marketing) Fargo, N.D.
Stacey Swatek (R-Sr., Applied Kinesiology M Ed.) Wisconsin Dells, Wis.
Kaila Urick (R-Sr., Journalism) Chaska, Minn.
Tess Wasowicz (R-So., Global Studies) Palatine, Ill.

Women’s Soccer
Ellie Arvesen (Sr., Inter-College Program) Pine Springs, Minn.
Rashida Beal (Jr., Psychology) Germantown, Wis.
Tori Burnett (So., Undeclared) Colorado Springs, Colo.
Mara Dougherty (Jr., Finance and Marketing) Medina, Minn.
Elle Dykema (Sr., Kinesiology) Northfield, Minn.
Megan Koenig (So., Biology) Mahtomedi, Minn.
Simone Kolander (Jr., Communication Studies) Lakeville, Minn.
Jen Larrick (Sr., Youth Development Leadership) Westford, Mass.
Kirsti Lilja (Sr., Family Social Science) Circle Pines, Minn.
Rachel McCloskey (So., Sport Management) Runnels, Iowa
Allie Reinke (Sr., Graphic Design) Stillwater, Minn.
Taylor Stainbrook (R-Sr., Communication Studies) Apple Valley, Minn.
Josee Stiever (Jr., Communication Studies) Cedarburg, Wis.

Women’s Volleyball
Maddie Beal (So., Undecided) Colorado Springs, Colo.
Alyssa Goehner (So., Undecided) Lakeville, Minn.
Erica Handley (Jr., Communication Studies) Lakeville, Minn.
Dalianliz Rosado (So., Undecided) Morovis, Puerto Rico
Katie Schau (Jr., Chemical Engineering) Richland, Minn.
Hannah Tapp (Jr., Marketing) Stewartville, Minn.
Paige Tapp (Jr., Marketing) Stewartville, Minn.
Sarah Wilhite (Jr., Physiology) Eden Prairie, Minn.



Season Ticket Renewals Now Open For 2018 Campaign

Season Ticket Renewals Now Open For 2018 Campaign

12/18/2017 - Football

University of Minnesota football season ticket holders are now able to renew their seats for the 2018 season.

Row the Boat Culture: Video Recap

Row the Boat Culture: Video Recap

12/15/2017 - Football

Check out some of the best off-the-field moments from Gopher Football in 2017 with this video recap!

Ski-U-Mah Weekly: Episode 14

Ski-U-Mah Weekly: Episode 14

12/11/2017 - Football

Former Gopher Basketball player Spencer Tollackson joined Justin Gaard on Ski-U-Mah Weekly Dec. 11 to talk Minnesota Basketball and more!

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics