Claeys Nominated For Broyles Award

Nov. 27, 2013

Minnesota defensive coordinator Tracy Claeys was one of 40 collegiate assistant coaches nominated for the Broyles Award, which is presented each year to the top assistant coach in college football.

The 2013 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 10 at 11:30 a.m. at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2012 Broyles Award was Bob Diaco of Notre Dame.

Claeys' defense has allowed 254 points through 11 games this year. With two games to play, Minnesota has a chance of not allowing 300 points this season. The last time that happened was in 2004 when the Gophers allowed 273 points in 12 games. The Minnesota defense has excelled under Claeys in his three years at the school. The Gophers allowed 380 points in his first year and 321 in his second year before this season. 

The Gophers have nine interceptions this year (by eight different players, with three going for touchdowns) and now have 22 interceptions in their last 24 games. In Minnesota's prior 24 games, it recorded 14 interceptions. Minnesota also has four defensive touchdowns (three interception returns and one fumble return) this year.

Minnesota has held five of its seven Big Ten opponents this year to fewer point then when the teams last met (Wisconsin 38 points last year to 20 this year, Nebraska 38 to 23, Penn State 33 to 10, Iowa 31 to 23 and Northwestern 21 to 17). As a result the Gophers are 8-3 overall and 4-3 in the Big Ten.

The Gophers, who were widely picked to finish last in their Big Ten division, have won eight games in a season for 18th time overall and seventh time since 1960. The Gophers also won four straight Big Ten games in a season for the first time since 1973.

Claeys has served as the Gophers' acting head coach since Oct. 10, when it was announced that Coach Jerry Kill would take time away to focus on his epilepsy treatment. While Kill was away, Claeys moved from the press box to the field. Kill has since returned to the team and resumed his head coaching duties. However, Kill now coaches from the press box, while Claeys remains on the field.



The Broyles Award was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas Head Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history. 

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story. For more information, visit or search for Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

2013 Broyles Award Nominees
Minnesota - Tracy Claeys, Defensive Coordinator
Alabama - Doug Nussmeier, Offensive Coordinator
Arizona - Jeff Casteel, Defensive Coordinator
Arizona State - Mike Norvell, Offensive Coordinator
Arkansas State - Kent Riddle, Assistant Head Coach, TE's/Special Teams
Auburn - Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator
Ball State - Rich Skrosky, Offensive Coordinator
Baylor - Philip Montgomery, Offensive Coordinator
Boston College - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator
Brigham Young - Nick Howell, Defensive Coordinator
Central Florida - Brent Key, Assistant Head Coach/Offensive Line
Colorado State - Dave Baldwin, Offensive Coordinator
Clemson - Chad Morris, Offensive Coordinator
Duke - Kurt Roper, Offensive Coordinator
Florida State - Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator
Fresno State - Dave Schramm, Offensive Coordinator
Georgia Tech - Ted Roof, Defensive Coordinator
Houston - David Gibbs, Defensive Coordinator
Indiana - Seth Littrell, Offensive Coordinator
Iowa - Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator
Louisville - Vance Bedford, Defensive Coordinator
LSU - Cam Cameron, Offensive Coordinator
Michigan State - Pat Narduzzi, Defensive Coordinator
Missouri - Josh Henson, Offensive Coordinator
Nebraska - Tim Beck, Offensive Coordinator
Ohio State - Tom Herman, Offensive Coordinator
Oklahoma State - Glenn Spencer, Defensive Coordinator
Ole Miss - Dan Werner, Co-Offensive Coordinator
Rice - Chris Thurmond, Defensive Coordinator
San Jose State - Jimmie Dougherty, Offensive Coordinator
South Carolina - Lorenzo Ward, Defensive Coordinator
South Florida - Stu Holt, Special Teams Coordinator
Stanford - Derek Mason, Defensive Coordinator
Texas State - Mike Schultz, Offensive Coordinator
UCLA - Jeff Ulbrich, Assistant Head Coach/LB's/Special Teams
Utah - Ilaisa Tuiaki, Defensive Line
Utah State - Todd Orlando, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Virginia Tech - Torrian Gray, Defensive Secondary Coach/Pass Game Coordinator
Western Michigan - Charles Huff, RB Coach
Wisconsin - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator/LB's


Gophers Add North Carolina To 2023, 2024 Schedules

Gophers Add North Carolina To 2023, 2024 Schedules

4/25/2018 - Football

Minnesota has added North Carolina to its upcoming football schedules with games to be played in 2023 and 2024.

Going Pro: Brandon Lingen

Going Pro: Brandon Lingen

4/25/2018 - Football

Brandon Lingen wasn't just contributing on the playing field, he was also using his senior season to prepare for life after college.

O'Brien Featured By Yahoo! Sports

O'Brien Featured By Yahoo! Sports

4/23/2018 - Football

Casey O'Brien is fighting cancer for the fourth time, but that hasn't stopped him from playing football or from visiting patients at Masonic Children's Hospital.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics