Williams Wins CFPA Tight End Trophy
Maxx Williams has been named the winner of the 2014 College Football Performance Awards Tight End Trophy.
Jan. 8, 2015

Minnesota tight end Maxx Williams, who announced on Jan. 2 that he would enter the 2015 NFL Draft, has been named the winner of the 2014 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Tight End Trophy.

Williams played in 12 games in 2014 and led the Gophers in receptions (36), receiving yards (569) and touchdowns (8) en route to being named First Team All-American by Sporting News, the Football Writers Association of America and by Phil Steele. He was responsible for 30.9% of the team’s receiving yards and 66.7% of the team’s receiving touchdowns.

Williams was named the Kwalick-Clark Big Ten Tight End of the Year and was named All-Big Ten First Team by the coaches and media. He also became the third sophomore (redshirt) ever to be named a Mackey Award Finalist and was named a First Team Capital One Academic All-American.

Williams played in 25 games for Minnesota and ended his collegiate career with 61 receptions for 986 yards and 13 touchdowns.

The CFPA, now in its seventh year, selects its winners based upon objective rankings of player and team performance. Twenty-eight individual CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Former CFPA winners at tight end include current NFL players: Jace Amaro (New York Jets), Coby Fleener (Indianapolis Colts), Travis Kelce (Kansas City Chiefs), Lance Kendricks (St. Louis Rams) and Dennis Pitta (Baltimore Ravens).




Elite Access: Goldy Gets the Game Ball!


Watch Gopher Football head coach P.J. Fleck give Goldy Gopher the game ball.

Cinematic Highlights: Gophers-Blue Raiders


Get a fresh look at Minnesota's 34-3 win over Middle Tennessee on Sept. 16 with all-new camera angles & much more!

Jacob Huff Named B1G Player Of The Week


Minnesota safety Jacob Huff was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week today. Huff made four tackles and returned an interception 67 yards for a touchdown against Middle Tennessee.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics