Dairy Queen Classic

The Golden Gophers won the 2012 DQ Classic
About the Dairy Queen Classic
Arrow The Dairy Queen Classic celebrated its 29th year in 2013 and is one of the longest running tournaments in the nation.
Arrow Nine teams from the Dairy Queen Classic have gone on to compete in the College World Series.
Arrow The Dairy Queen Classic teams have produced 145 Major League players.
Arrow The 1987 Dairy Queen Classic featured one of the few appearances by a Cuban team in the United States.
Arrow The 1989 Dairy Queen Classic featured one of the first televised regular-season college baseball games on ESPN.
Arrow Nine of the top 20 coaches in all-time wins have coached in the Dairy Queen Classic. Between the collection of coaches who have been in the tournament they have won 20 College World Series titles.

In 2013, Dairy Queen completed its 11th year as the title sponsor of the University’s annual spring baseball tournament which was held at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome. The tournament is on hiatus as the new stadium for the Minnesota Vikings is currently being built on the same site as the Metrodome.

The Dairy Queen Classic, which was established in 1985, celebrated its 29th anniversary in 2013 and is considered one of the most respected collegiate tournaments in the country. It consistently brings the top teams in the country to the Twin Cities and provides them with the opportunity to display their talents in a major league facility. The tournament has received outstanding support from the Twin Cities corporate community through sponsorship. Companies like General Mills, Pillsbury, Hormel Foods and Oscar Mayer have played a big part in the growth and success of the event. The tournament has grown considerably in many ways since its inception, and that growth would not have been possible without the support of its sponsors.

In past years, the event has featured an annual on-field clinic for youths ages 7 to 17 and their coaches. The clinic has been conducted by the coaches and players participating in the competition. A very popular part of the tournament in the past, it provides an opportunity for today’s college stars to give something back to the community.

Though Dairy Queen is the lead sponsor of the tournament, organizations like the The Depot-Minneapolis, Rawlings Baseballs and the Dugout Club help make the Dairy Queen Classic possible each year.


Maroon Wins Game Three, Gold Wins Series


The Maroon team defeated the Gold team 4-3 in the final game of the Steak ‘N Beans series at Siebert Field. The Gold team claimed the 2016 Steak ‘N Beans title, winning the...

Gold Team Takes 2-0 Lead In Steak 'N Beans


The Gold team defeated the Maroon team 2-1 Friday night to take a 2-0 lead in the best out of three games Steak ‘N Beans series at Siebert Field.

Gold Takes Game One


In the first game of the Steak ‘N Beans series, the Gold team came away with an 8-3 win over the Maroon squad.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics