62 Gophers Named Distinguished Scholars
Gophers placed 62 student-athletes on the Big Ten Conference Distinguished Scholar Athletes list.

July 9, 2014

A total of 62 University of Minnesota student-athletes have earned a place on the 2013-14 Big Ten Conference Distinguished Scholar Athletes list, conference officials announced today.

To be considered a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, student-athletes must earn a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year. The Distinguished Scholar program was established in February of 2008 by the Big Ten Faculty Representatives to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only student-athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student-athlete's academic career.

Minnesota boasted nine student-athletes (names bolded) who recorded a perfect 4.0 GPA. The complete list of Minnesota's Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award winners is below.


Baseball (1)
Mark Tatera - Sr. Biology, Eagan, Minn.

Women's Basketball (2)
Shayne Mullaney - So. Undeclared, Eden Prairie, Minn.
Sari Noga - Sr. Mortuary Science, Parkers Prairie, Minn. 

Football (3)
Alex Bisch - Sr. Kinesiology, Northfield, Minn.
Jon Christenson - Jr. Public Health Administration and Policy, Minnetonka, Minn.
Harold Legania - Sr. Business and Marketing Education, New Orleans, La.

Men's Golf (1)
Jon Trasamar - Gr. Applied Kinesiology, Blue Earth, Minn. 

Women's Golf (1)
Anna Laorr - Jr. Marketing, Eden Prairie, Minn. 

Men's Gymnastics (3)
Steffen Beck - Sr. Business and Marketing Education, Tampa, Fla.
Nathan Fortunato - Sr. Recreation Resource Management, Bedford, Ohio
Jack Metcalf - Jr. Youth Studies, Waukesha, Wis. 

Women's Gymnastics (1)
Lindsay Mable - So. Elementary Education, Aurora, Colo. 

Men's Hockey (2)
Jake Parenteau - Sr. Business and Marketing Education, Franconia, Minn.
Michael Shibrowski - Sr. Business and Marketing Education, Andover, Minn. 

Women's Hockey (3)
Rachael Bona - Jr. Child Psychology, Coon Rapids, Minn.
Bethany Brausen - Sr. Psychology, Little Canada, Minn.
Rachel Ramsey - Jr. Business and Marketing Education, Chanhassen, Minn.

Rowing (8)
Tabitha Andelin - Jr. Apparel Design, Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Kylie Andersen - So. Genetics/Cell Biology, Carver, Minn.
Jessica Flakne - So. Genetics/Cell Biology, Maple Plain, Minn.
Chelsea Miller - Sr. Biology, Mendota Heights, Minn.
Rachael Rogers - Sr. Biology, Society and Environment, Minneapolis, Minn.
Kersten Schwanz - So. Genetics/Cell Biology, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
Sarah Sobek - Sr. Psychology, Madison, Wis.
Katherine Windsor - Sr. Kinesiology, Shoreview, Minn. 

Softball (3)
Bree Blanchette - Sr. Business and Marketing Education, Eagan, Minn.
Erica Meyer - Jr. Marketing, Arden Hills, Minn.
Sara Moulton - Sr. Business and Marketing Education, Eagan, Minn. 

Men's Swimming & Diving (3)
Alejandro Cisneros - Jr. Psychology, Garden Grove, Calif.
Christopher Johnson - Jr. Biomedical Engineering, Austin, Texas
Derek Toomey - Sr. Kinesiology, Madison, Wis. 

Women's Swimming & Diving (6)
Erin Caflisch - Sr. Health And Wellness, Eyota, Minn.
Katy Etterman - Jr. Marketing, East Gull Lake, Minn.
Kiera Janzen - Jr. Journalism, White Bear Lake, Minn.
Jessica Plant - Jr. Classical Civilization, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Tori Simenec - Jr. Psychology, Salem, Ore.
Rebecca Weiland - Jr. Sport Management, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. 

Men's Tennis (1)
Mathieu Froment - Jr. Finance and Risk Management, Insurance and Accounting, Longwy, France 

Women's Tennis (3)
Tereza Brichacova - Jr. Journalism Prague, Czech Republic
Pauline Gilbert - Sr. Finance Gif-sur-Yvette, France
Yuliana Umanets - Sr. Business and Marketing Education Rivne, Ukraine 

Women's Track & Field/Cross Country (21)
Abby Anderson - Sr. Nursing, Perham, Minn.
Liz Berkholtz - Jr. Psychology, Sun Prairie, Wis.
Rachel Drake - Sr. Biochemistry, White Bear Lake, Minn.
Becca Dyson - Jr. Journalism, Roseville, Minn.
Jillian Johnson - Sr. Microbiology, Green Bay, Wis.
Katie Moraczewski - Sr. Graphic Design, White Bear Lake, Minn.
Stephanie Solfelt - Gr. Special Education, Eden Prairie, Minn.
Alexandra Beckman - Jr. Nursing, Apple Valley, Minn.
Amanda Beckman - Jr. Nursing, Apple Valley, Minn.
Alena Brooks - Gr. Applied Kinesiology, Diego Martin, Trinidad
Ashlie Decker - Sr. Business and Marketing Education, Des Moines, Iowa
Megan Geyen - Gr. Applied Kinesiology, Watertown, Minn.
Jessica Herauf - Jr. Elementary Education, Dickinson, N.D.
Kailee Kamps - So. Undeclared, Belmont, Wis.
Katelin Loberg - Gr. Innovation Studies, Princeton, Minn.
Rachel Melum - Jr. Kinesiology, Iola, Wis.
Taylor Mikkalson - So. Psychology, Mantorville, Minn.
Kaitlin Mincke - Sr. Journalism, Farmington, Minn.
Cassandra Opitz - Gr. Human Resource Development, Eden Prairie, Minn.
Lyndsey Thorpe - So. Sport Management, Stanley, Wis.
Jessica Waldvogel - Jr. Business and Marketing Education, Wausau, Wis.


Gophers Win 19th Straight On Senior Day

4/29/2017 - Softball

The No. 4/5 University of Minnesota Gophers have won 19 straight games for the second time this season after a pair of run-rule victories over the Purdue Boilermakers this afternoon.

Gophers Tally 15 Top-10 Finishes at Drake

4/29/2017 - M. Track

Minnesota earned runner-up performances from All-American high jumper Ryan Lockard and the distance medley relay team of Derek Wiebke, Jackson Wellenstein, Mitch Hechsel and Shane Streich...

Myrick Headed To Jacksonville

4/29/2017 - Football

Jalen Myrick, who is the fastest player in Big Ten history, was selected in seventh round by Jacksonville.

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics