83 Gophers Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars
July 5, 2017 University of Minnesota student-athletes were awarded 83 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Awards for the 2016-17 season, announced today by the conference office. In all, 21 Gophers teams were represented.

The 83 Minnesota honorees is the second most ever from the Gophers (86 in 2011-2012). Student-athletes must have recorded a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year in order to be eligible for the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award.

Included in Minnesota’s honorees were 14 Gophers who boasted a perfect 4.0 GPA – Derek Wiebke (Men’s Cross Country/Track and Field), Emily Betz (Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field), Patty O’Brien (Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field), Payton Jordahl (Football), Sabrine Garrison (Women’s Golf), Bailey Abernathy (Women’s Gymnastics), Bailie Hoist (Women’s Gymnastics), Sydney Baldwin (Women’s Ice Hockey), Nicole Schammel (Women’s Ice Hockey), Emily Stock (Rowing), Jakub Maly (Men’s Swimming and Diving), Mariam Khamis (Women’s Swimming and Diving), Brett Pfarr (Wrestling) and Chris Pfarr (Wrestling). The 14 perfect 4.0 student-athletes is the most by the Gophers since the award began in 2008, breaking the previous mark of nine set in 2013-2014 and 2014-2015.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letter winners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only students with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student's academic career.

Baseball (3)
Micah Coffey
Ben Mezzenga
Tim Shannon

Women’s Basketball (1)
Joanna Hedstrom

Men’s Cross Country (1)
Derek Wiebke

Women’s Cross Country (9)
Courtney Alama
Emily Betz
Anne Haakenstad
Abby Kargol
Sarah Klecker
Patty O’Brien
Naomi Ollila
Madeline Strandemo
Violet Weibel

Football (5)
Duke Anyanwu
Colton Beebe
Payton Jordahl
Nick Rallis
Andrew Stelter

Men’s Golf (2)
Charlie Duensing
Jose Mendez

Women’s Golf (3)
Sabrine Garrison
Emie Peronnin
Muyu Wu

Men’s Gymnastics (5)
Yaroslav Pochinka
Luke Aldrich
Ben Winkel
Ryan Bergman
Justin Karstadt

Women’s Gymnastics (4)
Bailey Abernathy
Bailie Holst
Kaitlin Rahon
Rachel Rowland

Men’s Hockey (1)
Mitch Rogge

Women’s Hockey (7)
Sydney Baldwin
Anna Barlow
Sidney Peters
Nicole Schammel
Kate Schipper
Lee Stecklein
Taylor Williamson

Rowing (8)
Emily Appold
Maggie Bieber
Anna Cruse
Erika Guenther
Abbey Hauser
Meredith Kelly
Kortney Luedloff
Emily Stock

Soccer (4)
Mara Dougherty
Molly Fiedler
Kellie McGahn
Kailee Sharp

Softball (2)
Elizabeth Cowger
Sam Macken

Men’s Swimming & Diving (4)
Matt Barnard
Nick Hatanaka
Jakub Maly
Michael Messner

Women’s Swimming & Diving (6)
Rae Bullinger
Morgan Justus
Mariam Khamis
Abigail Raatz
Maggie Werba
Yu Zhou

Men’s Tennis (2)
Jeremy Lynn
Matic Spec

Men’s Track & Field (2)
Ryan Lockard
Derek Wiebke

Women’s Track & Field (9)
Angie Guenther
Anne Haakenstad
Erin Hawkins
Patty O’Brien
Naomi Ollila
Lindsey Smits
Madeline Strandemo
Heta Tuuri
Violet Weibel

Volleyball (1)
Sarah Wilhite

Wrestling (4)
James Berg
Michael Kroells
Brett Pfarr
Chris Pfarr


Faces of Fearless: Jack Kramer

12/14/2017 - General Release

Kramer always had interest as a child in taking his toys apart and then putting them back together. He also had an interest in things that fly.

Through the Lens - Owen Webster

12/14/2017 - Wrestling

Owen Webster did not start his college wrestling career at the University of Minnesota, but now that he has arrived, he is setting new goals and doing everything he can to reach them.

Ogunrinde Honored at Minnesota Sports Awards

12/14/2017 - W. Track & Field

Temi Ogunrinde was named the Collegiate Athlete of the Year presented by Sports Minneapolis Wednesday night.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics