Gophers Earn 67 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Spots
Senior Kiara Buford was one of 67 Gophers to be named Academic All-Big Ten.

March 28, 2012

A total of 67 University of Minnesota student-athletes have earned spots on the 2011-12 Winter Academic All-Big Ten teams, league officials announced today.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a career grade-point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better.

Minnesota's winter Big Ten sports include men's and women's basketball, men's and women's gymnastics, men's and women's swimming and wrestling.

Gopher sophomore gymnast Nathan Fortunato, a recreation resource management major, received special recognition as one of three winter-sport student-athletes in the Big Ten to maintain an unblemished 4.0 GPA.

Other notable Gophers to earn Academic All-Big Ten recognition included, honorable mention All-Big Ten women's basketball selection Kiara Buford, swimming and diving All-Americans Zach Bolin, Hrvoje Capan, Derek Toomey, Tess Behrens, Loren Brandon, Erin Caflisch, Maggie Keefer, Haley Spencer, Ashley Steenvoorden and Lauren Weis, and wrestling All-Americans Chris Dardanes, Zach Sanders, and Kevin Steinhaus.

With 10 selections, women's basketball led the way in terms of percentage of student-athletes receiving recognition, as more than 70 percent of the squad was named Academic All-Big Ten. Men's gymnastics was not far behind with nearly 60 percent of its roster earning the prestigious honor for a total of 13 Academic All-Big Ten honorees. Men's swimming and diving, with 13 selections, and women's swimming and diving with 23 honorees, were also well represented.

Overall, the conference's list of honored student-athletes features 41 men's and 62 women's basketball players, 58 men's and 50 women's gymnasts, 105 men's and 221 women's swimmers and divers and 79 wrestlers.

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program.

Men's Basketball
Elliott Eliason, So. (Business Management)

Men's Gymnastics
Steffen Beck, So. (Undeclared)
Ross Cameratta, Sr. (Inter-College Program)
Zack Chase, So. (Undeclared)
Russell Dabritz, Sr. (Food Science)
Nathan Fortunato, So. (Recreation Resource Management)
Matt Frey, So., Biology (Society And Environment)
Travis Heaver, Sr. (Electrical Engineering)
Adam Kern, So. (Undeclared)
Jesse Moravec, Jr. (Linguistics)
Justin Morinishi, So. (Electrical Engineering)
DJ Repp, Sr. (Health And Wellness)
John Scallon, So. (Undeclared)
Josh Wokurka, Jr. (Sports Management)

Men's Swimming & Diving
Jared Anderson, Jr. (Journalism)
Zach Bolin, Sr. (Chemistry)
Hrvoje Capan, Jr. (Undeclared)
Larry Formosa, Jr. (Mechanical Engineering)
Josh Hall, Jr. (Undeclared)
Nathan Jobe, Sr. (Sport Management)
Kristoffer Jorgensen, Sr. (Psychology)
Andy Knaak, Sr. (Political Science)
Matt Papenfuss, Sr. (Statistics)
Derek Toomey, So. (Undeclared)
Mike Vernoia, Sr. (Business and Marketing Education)

Women's Basketball
Kiara Buford, Sr. (Communications)
Shonte Clay, So. (Journalism)
Amber Dvorak, Jr. (Youth Studies)
Kionna Kellogg, So. (Undeclared )
Katie Loberg, Jr. (Journalism)
Brianna Mastey, Sr. (Sport Management)
Nicole Mastey, Sr. (Recreation, Park and Leisure Studies )
Sari Noga, So. (Pre-Mortuary Science)
Micaella Riche, So. (Undeclared, Gloucester )
Jackie Voigt, Gr. (Sport Management)

Women's Gymnastics
Janell Campbell, Jr. (Communication Studies)
Lucy Ennis, Sr. (Inter-College Program)
Briana Jones, Sr. (Physiology)
Kayla Slechta, So. (Undecided)

Women's Swimming & Diving
Kaela Anderson, So. (Undeclared)
Tess Behrens, So. (Undeclared)
Loren Brandon, Jr. (Finance)
Erin Caflisch, So. (Undeclared)
Annalise Colton, Jr. (Biomedical Engineering)
Marissa Davies, Sr. (Finance)
Lauren Greenberg, Jr. (Animal Science)
Natalie Herrild, Jr. (Economics)
Jenna Howenstein, So. (Undeclared)
Emma Jackson, Jr. (Psychology)
Maggie Keefer, So. (Undeclared)
Amelia Marsh, So. (Undeclared)
Cory Miller, Sr. (Actuarial Science)
Melissa Nelson, Sr. (Human Resources/Industry Relation)
Monica Radecke, So. (Lower Division)
Haley Spencer, Jr. (Psychology)
Ashley Steenvoorden, Sr. (Elementary Education)
Kristen Steenvoorden, Sr. (Mathematics)
Hailey Szews, So. (Undeclared)
Lissa Tommerdahl, Sr. (Biology)
Lauren Weis, Jr. (Business And Marketing Education)
Elizabeth Weitz, Jr. (Spanish/Portuguese Studies)
Hannah Whitehead, Sr. (Accounting)

Chris Dardanes, So. (Undeclared )
Nick Dardanes, So. (Undeclared)
Zach Sanders, Sr. (Business and Marketing Education)
Scott Schiller, So. (Undeclared)
Kevin Steinhaus, Jr. (Kinesiology)


Live: Gophers vs. Badgers

4/25/2018 - Softball

Gophers clashed in a Border Battle against Wisconsin in doubleheader fashion.

Going Pro: Brandon Lingen

4/25/2018 - Student-Athlete Affairs

wasn't just contributing on the playing field, he was also using his senior season to prepare for life after college.

Gophers Add North Carolina To 2023, 2024 Schedules

4/25/2018 - Football

Minnesota has added North Carolina to its upcoming football schedules with games to be played in 2023 and 2024.

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox!

Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics