Future Gophers Up for Ms. Hockey Award

Three future Gopher women's hockey players have been named semifinalists for the 2014 Minnesota Ms. Hockey Award. Let's Play Hockey newspaper announced that Sydney Baldwin, Kelly Pannek and Nina Rodgers are among the 10 semifinalists for annual award, which will be presented to the top senior girls' high school hockey player in Minnesota.

All 10 players named as semifinalists are committed to a Division I school for next season, including six in the WCHA. The semifinalists have scored an average of 24 goals and 26 assists this season for their respective teams. All 10 players have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.7.

The five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 13 edition of Let's Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 23, at 11:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

The 10 semifinalists for the Let's Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award were also announced this week. The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 6 edition of Let's Play Hockey. Both awards are sponsored by Let's Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shakopee Chevrolet.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Ms. Hockey Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability.

Past winners include several current and former Gophers: 2013 Dani Cameranesi (Blake), 2012 Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray), 2011 Karley Sylvester (Warroad), 2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville), 2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins), 2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji), 2007 Katharine Chute (Blake), 2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul), 2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad), 2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings), 2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm), 2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul), 2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville), 2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center), 1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville), 1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville), 1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley), 1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).

Read more:
Let's Play Hockey: 2014 Ms. Hockey, Senior Goalie semifinalists announced


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics