Banham Nominated for BTN Most Courageous Performance Award

| No TrackBacks
Go Gophers! Rachel BanhamGo Gophers!
BTN announced Monday that it is set to recognize the best of Big Ten sports in 2012-13 when it airs its sixth annual BTN Awards Show Wednesday, June 26 at 7:00 p.m. CT, and University of Minnesota women's basketball guard Rachel Banham is among the nominees for the network's Most Courageous Performance award.

Banham was sidelined for three months leading up to the 2012-13 season after doctors discovered a blood clot in her lung last July, but the adversity seemed to have little effect on the guard, as she would finish her sophomore campaign as the Big Ten's regular-season scoring champion and would be named First Team All-Big Ten by the league's head coaches. Banham was also honored as a WBCA All-America Honorable Mention selection and WBCA All-Region 6 after posting five games of 30 or more points and 16 games with 20 or more points.

Along with her list of awards, Banham became just the third sophomore Gopher to reach the 1,000-point milestone when she scored 37 points vs. Illinois on Jan. 28, and also surpassed former Gopher great Lindsay Whalen for the most points scored through a sophomore season with her 1,093rd-career point on Feb. 7 vs. Iowa.

With 1,243 career points, Banham ranks 14th all-time on Minnesota's career record chart, and also ranks fourth in games in double figures (64) and 10th in three-point field goals made (110). Banham also ranks fourth on Minnesota's single-season record chart with her 663 points scored in 2013.

All nominees for the Most Courageous Performance Award are below:
Rachel Banham, Minnesota women's basketball - sidelined for month after a blood clot was discovered in her lung last summer, she bounced back to earn First Team All-Big Ten honors.
Jack Hoffman, Nebraska fan - 7-year old brain cancer patient ran for a 69-yard touchdown at Nebraska's 2013 spring game. 
Robert Marve, Purdue football - overcame his third career ACL injury and returned to help the Boilermakers win their final three game and reach bowl eligibility.
Drey Mingo, Purdue women's basketball - suffered an ACL tear during the 2011-12 season. She came back this spring and led the Boilermakers to the Big Ten Tournament Championship where she was named the Tournament's Most Outstanding Player.

Minnesota is also nominated in two additional categories, including Women's Coach of the Year (Brad Frost, women's hockey) and women's team of the year (women's hockey).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics