Mayasich, Woog Selected for MSHSL Hall of Fame

| No TrackBacks
Go Gophers!
Go Gophers!

Gopher hockey greats John Mayasich and Doug Woog will be inducted into the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) Hall of Fame later this month in St. Paul. 

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for Sunday, May 19, at 1 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul Riverfront Hotel. The public is invited to attend. For event tickets, contact the League office at 763-560-2262 or go to the League website -- -- and click on the 2013 Hall of Fame Invitation link on the home page.

The League's Hall of Fame, which is sponsored by Wells Fargo, was started in 1991. The 2013 class is the 20th group to be inducted. The inductees were chosen through a multi-level selection process that included League member schools and a committee of athletics, fine arts, and educational leaders. This year's class brings the Hall of Fame membership to 196.

From the MSHSL...

John Mayasich, Athlete
His name will be forever linked to amateur hockey in Minnesota. John Mayasich is simply one of the greatest players ever to lace up skates in the state. At Eveleth High School he set his reputation in stone, playing on four state championship teams from 1948 to 1951, setting 10 individual state tournament records that remarkably still stand today. 

He scored a record total of 46 points, 36 goals, and 7 hat tricks in four tournaments. In 1951 he scored the most goals in one tournament -- 15, including a record seven goals in one game. The Eveleth team's four consecutive championships also still stands as a tournament record. The team went an undefeated 69-0 over that four-year stretch.

Mayasich continued his stellar career at the University of Minnesota. From 1952 to 1955 the perennial All-American became the Gophers' all-time leading scorer with 144 goals and 154 assists in 111 games. His 298 points remain the most in school history.

Mayasich set scoring records and won many WCHA and NCAA tournament honors, including MVP and Player of the Year. He was a member of the 1956 silver medal-winning U.S. Olympic hockey team and the 1960 gold medal team.

This Minnesota all-time hockey great has been inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, the National High School Hall of Fame and the "M" Club Hall of Fame. The Gophers retired Mayasich's No. 8 jersey, the only former Golden Gopher to be so honored.

Doug Wood, Coach/Athlete
Doug Woog was considered one of the premier amateur athletes of his era. At South St. Paul High School he earned nine varsity letters in football, baseball and hockey, but it was on the hockey rink that he dominated. The perennial all-state player led the Packers to four state hockey tournaments from 1959 to 1962. The team's best finishes came in 1961 and in 1962 when the Packers finished second and third, respectively. Woog's superior tournament play earned him a place on the all-tournament team three times.

Following high school, the star athlete attended the University of Minnesota to play under legendary coach John Mariucci. Woog led the Gophers in scoring in his junior year. As a senior he was named the team's Most Valuable Player and also received All-American honors.

Woog returned to South St. Paul High School in 1977 to coach the boys' hockey and soccer teams. The soccer teams he coached from 1977 to 1982 won four conference titles and played in four state tournaments, twice finishing as runners-up. He guided the Packers hockey teams to three state tournaments in his six seasons as head coach. The team finished third in 1978 and fourth in 1979. Woog's reputation landed him a stint as special assistant coach for the 1984 U.S. Olympic Hockey Team.

In 1985 he was named head hockey coach at the University of Minnesota, leading the Gophers to new heights. The team made 12 NCAA appearances in 14 seasons, six NCAA Final Four appearances, and Woog became the university's all-time winning coach with a 389-187-40 record. He resigned the post in 1999.

In 1989 Woog coached the U.S. Olympic Festival South Team to a gold medal. Woog is in the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame and the South St. Paul High School Hall of Fame. He was awarded the American Hockey Coaches Association's John MacInnes Award for his work with youth and amateur hockey.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics