Fan Balloting Now Open for the 2013 Hobey Baker Award

| No TrackBacks
Go Gophers! TopTen
Go Gophers!Minnesota's Jordan Leopold accepts the 2002 Hobey Baker Award. 
Go Gophers!


As college hockey enters the second half of the season, fans of the collegiate game can now help determine the winner of the 2013 Hobey Baker Award.

Awarded annually to college hockey's top player, the Hobey Baker's highly popular fan-voting phase opens at noon CT on Monday, January 7. Visit the Hobey Baker website: www.hobeybakeraward.comClick on the Vote for Hobey icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year's outstanding crop of 77 college hockey players.  Please spend some additional time to check out our website.

Among those nominated for the 2013 Hobey Baker Award are Minnesota's Nick Bjugstad, Erik Haula and Nate Schmidt. 

This first phase of fan balloting will run now through March 10, 2013. Phase two of fan balloting will begin on March 22 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans' vote accounts for a full 1 percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year's award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates emulating the exceptional character traits exhibited by the award's namesake, Hobey Baker. An American super-hero, Baker was a World War I fighter pilot and was known as America's greatest amateur athlete in his day, excelling at hockey and football at Princeton. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship. 

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2013 include:

  • Top Ten list of candidates:  March 21
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists:  April 3
  • Hobey Baker Award announcement:  April 12

The 2013 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 12, 2013 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Pittsburgh, PA. The 33rd annual award announcement honoring college hockey's top player will be televised live. For more info on the Hobey Baker Award or to access the Hobey logo, please

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics