GWH Blog: 10 Gophers Selected to USA National Festival Roster

| No TrackBacks
USA Hockey today announced the 79 players selected to participate in the 2012 USA Hockey Women's National Festival, which will take place Aug. 5-13 at the Schwan Super Rink in Blaine, Minn. The Over-18 roster includes 51 players, including Gophers Rachael Bona, Megan Bozek, Hannah Brandt, Sarah Erickson, Milica McMillen, Gigi Marvin, Rachel Ramsey, Anne Schleper, Lee Stecklein, and Emily West.

Among the players with Gopher ties are four alumnae (Sarah Erickson, Gigi Marvin, Anne Schleper and Emily West), three Gophers who will be returning letterwinners this fall (Rachael Bona, Megan Bozek and Rachel Ramsey), and three incoming freshmen (Hannah Brandt, Milica McMillen and Lee Stecklein).

Attending the USA Hockey Women's National Festival are 21 of the 23 members of the U.S. Women's National Team that turned in a silver-medal performance at the 2012 International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship in Burlington, Vermont. Gopher players who were on the 2012 World Championships team include Megan Bozek, Anne Schleper and Gigi Marvin.

The Festival will culminate with the selection of teams to represent the United States in a U18 series vs. Canada in Blaine and a U22 series vs. Canada in Calgary, Alberta. Both events will include three games between the two nations to be staged from Aug. 16-19.

In addition to the nine Gopher players on the roster, former Minnesota head coach Laura Halldorson and Gopher assistant coach Joel Johnson will each serve as an assistant coach for USA Hockey at the summer festival.

For the complete over-18 roster, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics