Annual Awards Handed Out; Patterson, Bjugstad Share MVP

| No TrackBacks
Follow Gopher Hockey:    
Go Gophers! Kent Patterson
Go Gophers!
Kent Patterson (pictured) shared the John Mariucci Most Valuable Player award with Nick Bjugstad.
Go Gophers!

The University of Minnesota men's hockey team held its annual banquet at Jax Café in Minneapolis tonight. Eight different awards were handed out to eight different individuals and only one member of the team received two different awards. The awards were voted on by members of the team.

Senior Kent Patterson and sophomore Nick Bjugstad shared the John Mariucci Most Valuable Player award. This is only the second time in the award's history, which dates back to the 1955-56 season, that Minnesota has had co-MVPs. Goaltender Kellen Briggs and forward Danny Irmen split the honor after the 2004-05 season.

Both Patterson and Bjugstad were named Second-Team All-Americans and All-WCHA First Team this year. Patterson was the National Player of the Month for October and was a three-time WCHA Defensive Player of the Week. Bjugstad was the National Player of the Month for November and was recognized as the WCHA Offensive Player of the Week once this year.

Patterson's 28 wins were the most by a Gopher goalie since Robb Stauber won 34 games in 1987-88. He won games against 10 different WCHA teams. He set a single-season school record and tied for the national lead in shutouts with seven this year. Patterson played in 43 games (tied for second all-time in one season) and played 2556:11 (second all-time in one season). His 2.32 goals-against average is third all-time in a single season, while his 966 saves rank fifth. He finished his career first in Minnesota history in save percentage (.913) and tied for first in goals-against average at 2.45 (Kellen Briggs also had a 2.45 career goals-against average in 132 games from 2003-07). Patterson's seven shutouts place him tied for third all-time in career shutouts.

Patterson also started the final 64 game of his career at Minnesota, dating back to his junior year. Starting on Dec. 4, 2010, he played a consecutive 3414:13 before not playing the final 20 minutes against Wisconsin on March 2, 2012. His minutes-played streak spanned 57 games and went through 170-regulation periods and parts of 12 overtime sessions.

Bjugstad led Minnesota with 25 goals and finished third on the team with 42 points, despite missing three games this year (two while he was playing for the United States in the World Junior Championship and one because of an injury). His 25 goals led Minnesota and placed him tied for fifth nationally and were the most by a Gopher since Ryan Potulny had 38 in during the 2005-06 season. Bjugstad recorded 21 of his points (9g-12a) in 16 road games and had a point in 13 of 16 road games, which included five multiple-point games. He tied for second on the team in power-play goals (8) and was third in plus-minus with a +21 rating. Bjugstad led the Gophers with a 17.2 shooting percentage and Minnesota was 20-6-1 when he recorded a point.
Go Gophers! Kyle Rau
Go Gophers!
Kyle Rau received the Frank Pond Rookie of the Year award after recording 43 points in 40 games as a freshman.
Go Gophers!

Freshman forward Kyle Rau earned the Frank Pond Rookie of the Year award. Rau, who missed two games while playing for the United States in the World Junior Championship, was second on the team in points (43) and third on the team in goals (18) and assists (25). He led the team with nine power-play goals and finished second on the team with a +23 rating. Rau tallied six game-winning goals, which tied him with Trent Klatt (1991-92) for ninth all-time for most game-winning goals in a single season. Rau, who was named to All-WCHA Rookie Team, was also the national Rookie of the Month for October and a three-time WCHA Rookie of the Week. His 18 goals were the most by a Gopher freshman since the 2006-07 season (Jay Barriball had 20 and Kyle Okposo had 19) and his 43 points were the most by a Gopher freshman since the 2008-09 season when Jordan Schroeder had 45.

Sophomore forward Erik Haula was named the Tom Mohr Playoff MVP. Haula, who led Minnesota in scoring with 49 points (20g-29a) in 43 games this season, increased his level of play when the postseason started. The Pori, Finland, native had five goals and six assists in six postseason games as Minnesota advanced to the Frozen Four. Haula had at least one point in all six playoff games and had four points (2g-2a) in Game 2 of Minnesota's first round WCHA playoff win against Alaska Anchorage.  

Senior captain Taylor Matson was named the Mike Crupi Most Determined Player and also received the Elwin "Doc" Romnes Leadership and Sportsmanship award. Matson, who coach Don Lucia has often referred to as the hardest-working player he has ever coached, has now received the Mike Crupi Most Determined Player award the last three seasons. He is the third player to receive the honor three times since it was first handed out after the 1972-73 season. Matson joins Scott Bell (1991-93 and 1994-1995) and John Pohl (1999-2002) as the only three-time winner of the award. Matson played in all 43 games this season and had 23 points (8g-15a).   

Senior goaltender Jake Kremer received the Dr. V. George Nagobads Unsung Hero award. Kremer served as the team's third goalie for the last four years and in that timeframe nobody practiced or faced shots more than him. Kremer played in one game during his career, as he was in net for the final 44 seconds in a 7-3 win against Alaska Anchorage as Minnesota won Game 2 in the first round of the WCHA playoffs this year.  

Sophomore Nate Condon earned the John Mayasich Outstanding Student-Athlete award. Condon is double majoring in Finance and Accounting and has a 3.61 grade-point average. On the ice, he played in all 43 games and set career highs in goals (11), assists (19) and points (30).

Junior Seth Helgeson received the Donald M. Clark Community Service Award for the third straight year. He joins Justin Johnson (2002-05) as the only three-time recipient of the award. Helgeson played in all 43 games this year and set career highs in goals (5), assists (9) and points (14).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics