Minnesota To Honor 2002 National Champions

| No TrackBacks
Go Gophers! 2002 National Champions
Go Gophers!
John Pohl (left) and Jordan Leopold led Minnesota to the 2002 NCAA title.
Go Gophers!
Coaches Recall Title: Lucia l Guentzel l Potulny

Q&A With John Pohl | Official In-Arena Tribute Video

The University of Minnesota will honor the 2002 NCAA men's hockey championship team this Saturday during Minnesota's 7 p.m. game against Bemidji State.

The 2002 team won Minnesota's fourth national championship and ended a 23-year title drought with a dramatic and unforgettable 4-3 overtime win against Maine at Xcel Energy Center.

Members of the championship team and staff will gather for dinner before Saturday's game and then the former players will sign autographs for fans on the Mariucci Arena concourse from 6-6:45 p.m. Commemorative posters will be available at the autograph signing and a limited number of posters will also be distributed to fans as they leave the game.  

Members of the 2002 team who will be at Mariucci Arena this Saturday are: Nick Anthony, Adam Hauser, Justin Johnson, Matt Koalska, Pat O'Leary, John Pohl, Grant Potulny, Jerrid Reinholz, Chad Roberg, Judd Stevens, Jon Waibel, Erik Wendell and Dan Welch.

The championship team members and staff will be recognized with an on-ice presentation during the first intermission.

Eight members from the championship team--Nick Angell, Keith Ballard, Matt DeMarchi, Jordan Leopold, Paul Martin, Troy Riddle, Jeff Taffe and Barry Tallackson--are still playing professionally and will not be able to make it back to campus.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/31328


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics