GWH Blog: Future Gophers Among Ms. Hockey Semifinalists

| No TrackBacks
Let's Play Hockey announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2012 Ms. Hockey Award, presented to the top senior girls' high school hockey player in Minnesota. Among the semifinalists are three players who have signed National Letters of Intent to attend the University of Minnesota next season. Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray HS), Milica McMillen (Breck HS), and Lee Stecklein (Roseville Area HS) are among the semifinalists for the award and will join the Gopher women's hockey program next fall.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Ms. Hockey Award include academics, community and extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability.

Five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 16 edition of Let's Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Feb. 26.

In the 16-year history of the award, 12 of the award winners have played for the Golden Gophers, including three members of the current Minnesota team. Ms. Hockey winners to attend Minnesota include:

1996: Winny Brodt
1998: Laura Slominski
1999: Ronda Curtin
2000: Krissy Wendell
2001: Renee Curtin
2002: Ashley Albrecht
2003: Andrea Nichols
2004: Erica McKenzie
2005: Gigi Marvin
2008: Sarah Erickson
2009: Becky Kortum
2010: Bethany Brausen

Full story from Let's Play Hockey here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics