The Jeanly Cup

| 1 Comment | No TrackBacks
Haven't heard of the Jeanly Cup? Most people haven't, being that it's a made up intrasquad three-on-three tournament, with a tin foil trophy at stake. However, the competitive nature of the Gopher players and coaches made it an entertaining event. 

A Gopher women's hockey tradition since 2003, the Jeanly Cup is an annual tournament, held the week of the Four Nations Cup each fall. The Gopher squad, including coaches, are split into four teams. Seniors Anne Schleper, Sarah Erickson, Emily West and Kelly Seeler were named the captains of each team, and held a draft to pick their teammates.

With bragging rights and the Jeanly Cup on the line, the competition was fierce. Team Orange, led by Erickson, earned a spot in the championship game with its play in the first three days of the tournament. In today's play, Team Black, led by West, battled against Schleper and Team White for the other spot in the championship game. Black won, putting White in the consolation game against Team Blue, led by Seeler. The consolation game loser has the unfortunate task of carrying the baggage when the team travels to Boston to play Harvard Nov. 25-26. White won the consolation game, giving Blue baggage duty on the trip to Harvard.

In the championship game, Team Orange and Team Black skated to a 4-4 tie at the end of regulation. Coach Frost decided to implement a two-minute sudden-death overtime period, during which Erickson scored for Orange.  

Athletic director Joel Maturi was on hand to present the Jeanly Cup to Team Orange. Coach Muzerall presented the Jean Smythe MVP Award to Team Black's Bethany Brausen and the Jean-Vezna Top Goalie Award to Shyler Sletta. Video of the championship-winning goal and award presentations can be seen here.

Team Orange members proud signed their names to the Jeanly Cup trophy to record their 2011 Jeanly Cup victory. The trophy was constructed by Coaches Frost and Johnson.

Champions: Team Orange
Sarah Erickson
Brad Frost
Kelly Terry
Sam Downey
Rachel Ramsey

Second Place: Team Black
Emily West
Bethany Brausen
Meghan Lorence
Nikki Ludwigson
Becky Kortum

Third Place: Team White
Anne Schleper
Baylee Gillanders
Stephanie Anderson
Nadine Muzerall
Sarah Davis

Fourth Place and winners of baggage duty: Team Blue
Kelly Seeler
Megan Bozek
Katie Frischmann
Rachael Bona
Joel Johnson

Photo album available on the Gopher women's hockey Facebook page at

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

1 Comment


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics