M Club Hall of Fame: John Whitaker

| No TrackBacks

The legacy of University of Minnesota athletics will be celebrated next Thursday, Sept. 22 at Ted Mann Concert Hall, when eight former Golden Gopher student-athletes are inducted into the "M" Club Hall of Fame.

Each day until then, we will preview one of the eight inductees with a special video. Next up is former Golden Gopher wrestling legend Garth Lappin. For more on all the inductees, click here.

A dominant figure in the early days of Minnesota Wrestling, John Whitaker's accomplishments set the bar for Gopher Wrestling. Whitaker will always be remembered as the program's first ever NCAA Champion. He earned the honor on March 20, 1937 on the campus of the then named Indiana State Teachers College, presently known as Indiana State University; where as a senior he defeated John Ginay of Illinois in the 175 pound championship match at the tenth NCAA Wrestling Tournament to become the Gophers' National Champion.

The official induction of the 2011 class will take place during a ceremony to be held at the Ted Mann Concert Hall (2128 Fourth Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55455) on Thursday, Sept. 22, 2011.Tickets are available for purchase online through the University of Minnesota ticket office at www.tickets.umn.edu or by calling the Northrop ticket office at 612-624-2345.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/24200


Proud Sponsors Of Gopher Athletics